Posted in Picture Books

Leonardo the Terrible Monster by Mo Willems

624744Leonard the Terrible Monster
Mo Willems
2005 Hyperion Books for Children
ISBN – 9780786852949
Genre – Picture Books
Age – Preschool
5 Stars

 

Leonardo is not a good monster, he just doesn’t scare people. He doesn’t have a ton of teeth, and he’s not super big either. He came up with a master plan to find the biggest scaredy cat child he could find. He found Sam and used every trick in his bag, but to no avail. So instead of being a terrible monster, Leonardo decided to be a wonderful friend!

 

I LOVE this book. OK so I know this will be an unpopular statement, but I never got the hype of Mo Willems. His books are just not my favorite (with the exception of the mole rat!) However, this book was exceptional, everything about it! I love the drawings, and the way the colors are almost muted. I love the format, the book is pretty large, yet many of the illustrations only take up a corner of the book. I love the font and the colors of the text. I love the facial expressions of Leonardo. Most of all I love the entirety of the content, the story is fun and light-hearted. It is sweet but also funny. Not to mention it gives you the opportunity to make scary monster noises! You win this round Mo Willems, I stand corrected!

One thought on “Leonardo the Terrible Monster by Mo Willems

Leave a Reply

