Posted in Picture Books

That is Not a Good Idea! by Mo Willems

16285053That is Not a Good Idea!
Mo Willems
2013 Balzer + Bray
ISBN – 9780062203090
Genre – Picture Book
Age – Toddler, Preschool
4.5 Stars

 

The big bad wolf is wandering around in town, and runs across a lovely goose. He invites her for a walk, into the woods, and then for dinner at his house. What could he be planning? All the while little chicks are exclaiming that it is not a good idea! The goose, however, seems none the wiser as this bad idea progresses. I won’t give away the end of the story, but it definitely wasn’t what I expected!

I enjoyed this book a lot. I have stated earlier that I am not a big fan of Mo Willems, but this is the second book I have really enjoyed (granted out of about 40 books, that’s not much.) I think it is great for a wide range of audiences, as the narrative is simple yet suspenseful and hilarious. Though I may not like Mo Willem’s stories very much, I am usually a fan of his simplistic illustrations, and this book is a great example of this style. It also contains the weird eyes of many of his creatures in previous books. It gives an odd sense on innocence…perhaps!

Leave a Reply

