Posted in Young Adult Lit

Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

8843789Ultraviolet
R.J. Anderson
2011 Carolrhoda LAB
ISBN – 9780761374084
Genre – Mystery
Age – High School
2 Stars

 

Alison wakes up in a mental hospital, remembering very little. She has flashes of a fight she was in with one of her classmates, who has incidentally been missing ever since that fight. After the fight she runs home screaming about blood and how she made her classmate disintegrate. Then we backtrack a little bit. Ever since Alison could remember, she could see colors, and sounds made shapes. She has a condition called synesthesia. Her mother always told her that this was a bad thing, and acted like Alison was completely insane. As Alison discovers more about her abilities and more about what happened the afternoon of the fight, she stumbles upon some pretty unbelievable happenings.

Ok so when I say unbelievable, I mean it. And man did it come out of left field. I don’t want to say what happens and give the ending away, but WOW! I actually really enjoyed the first part of the book. I liked the way that it was completely nontransparent. I was really left wondering what was behind the curtain. I wanted to read more. I also thought that the synesthesia was such an interesting condition to build a murder mystery upon. But then it changed, and it got weird, and in my opinion completely ridiculous. Based on the ending, I have absolutely no intentions of reading any more books in the series. How disappointing.

Leave a Reply

