Posted in Young Adult Lit

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

10798418Why We Broke Up
Daniel Handler
Art by Maira Kalman
2011 Little Brown and Company
ISBN – 9780316127257
Genre – Realistic Fiction
Age – High School
2.5 Stars

 

Minerva Green, or Min for short is breaking up with Ed. So she writes him a letter and returns him all of the mementos from their relationship. Min is a film buff and Ed is a co-captain of the high school basketball team. They are an odd couple from the beginning, but sometimes opposites attract. The letter outlines all of the ups and downs of their relationship and how they fell in love and why they fell apart.

I don’t have any real solid reason for not loving this book, I just didn’t. It just wasn’t all that interesting. Each chapter comes with a painting showing each item that she is returning to him. I really like the idea of having visual media in YA books, but I just didn’t really like the paintings. I guess that is how I felt about the entire book. I like the concept, it just didn’t work well for me in practice.

Leave a Reply

