Posted in Young Adult Lit

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

6936382Anna and the French Kiss
Stephanie Perkins
2008 Random House/Listening Library
ISBN – 9780307968524
Genre – Realistic Fiction, Audiobook
Age – High School
2.5 Stars

 

Anna is entering her senior year of high school when her lame father decides she needs to be more cultured. His solution is to send her to a boarding school in Paris. This means that she will have to leave her best friend Bridge, her gorgeous crush Toff, and the amazing senior year she was planning on having. Upon arriving in Paris she immediately feels very isolated due to lack of friends and the language barrier of course. However, she quickly falls into place with a new group of friends, one that includes and even more gorgeous British guy. Only one problem, he has a girlfriend. Throughout the year Anna faces the good, the bad, and the ugly facets of her life. She may have to learn that she can’t always get what she wants.

This is a very light and easy read (or listen.) Since I have gotten a job to which I commute over two hours a day, I have been listening to a lot more books. It was nice to have a relaxing book to listen to for once, as I usually read or listen to pretty intense action, fantasy, apocalyptic type books. However, as the book went on, I got more and more annoyed with the narrator. At first I just didn’t like her British boy’s voice, then I got annoyed with every male voice. By the end, I hated every voice and every intonation and emotion. So if I could look past that and pretend that I read it, and had my own awesome voices, I would say this book is a solid OK. For 90% of the book, I really thought Anna was a terrible selfish human being. At times I got a glimmer of hope from her thoughts and actions, but soon after she would make me regret that hope. The bright part of this, is that most 17 year old girls are selfish human beings, and she really did think and speak the way I would expect from someone of her age. Not a bad book for those who really enjoy realistic teen girl fiction!

2 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

    1. I know that Lola and the Boy Next Door is number two in the series, but I don’t think they follow a sequential plot. Either way I haven’t read it. Most of my reason for not really liking this one a ton was the narrator of the audio book. Also I am not the hugest fan of realistic fiction, but I am trying. So if you know any must read realistic fictions, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

