Posted in Young Adult Lit

Graceling, by Kristin Cashore

3236307Graceling
Kristing Cashore
2008 Harcourt
ISBN – 9780152063962
Genre – Fantasy
Age – High School
4 Stars

In Katsa’s world, which made up of seven different kingdoms, some people have an extreme skill called a “grace.” In most of these kingdoms, people who are graced are exploited by those in power. They are also often feared. Katsa’s grace is feared most of all, as it is killing. For many years her uncle, who is King of The Middluns, has been using her as his henchman, sending her to torture or kill anyone who crosses his path. When she befriends Prince Po, who is graced in combat skills, she learns much about who she is, and who she wants to be. The two embark on a special mission and learn many secrets of their realm, that may change both of their lives for ever.

Hmmm, I feel like my description does not really do this book justice. Then again any description that would do it justice, would also give too much away. I really like this book. It miraculously has pulled me out of the reading rut that I have been in for close to two months! Hooray. So I am pretty picky on the Fantasy genre, and this book did not cross any of my lines. There were clever and interesting names for people and places, but not so many and not so difficult that you needed a cast of characters at the beginning! I loved both Katsa and Po, and who they were in the beginning, but I also loved how they interacted and shaped the characters that they each become. They both learn to concede and compromise when necessary, but not in a way that makes either of them weak. The story was clever, and I felt like it was original. This could be because I haven’t read much in the genre, but alas, I am excited to read the companion and the sequel.

On another note, I am really trying not to get back into my reading rut, wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Graceling, by Kristin Cashore

Leave a Reply

