Posted in Young Adult Lit

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

storyIt’s Kind of a Funny Story
Ned Vizzini
2006 Disney Hyperion
ISBN – 9780786851973
Genre – Realistic Fiction
Age – High School
3.4 Stars

Craig is seriously depressed. He has been depressed ever since he got accepted into his high school. That was the most triumphant day of his life, and also the last truly great day he has lived. Now, he is so depressed he is considering suicide, so he calls a suicide hotline. They suggest that he go to the nearest emergency room and check himself in. This is exactly what he does, and soon finds himself in the adult psychiatric ward of his neighborhood hospital. Throughout his stay he makes new friends, reassesses his old friends and life, and struggles to create a new and manageable baseline.

I have pretty mixed feelings about this one. On the one hand I thought it was wonderfully written. It was serious and light hearted all at the same time. It made something that could have been horribly depressing and hard to read much easier. I like the idea that simple interactions with fellow human beings really can change our perspectives and lives as a whole. The characters seemed authentic, they made me remember my days of high school. They were accurate to put it simply. Because of this, I found it relatable, and I think lots of other teens will be able to relate as well. Now for the other hand…I thought it was naïvely optimistic. The ending as a whole was not believable in my mind. As much as I really want to get into the nitty gritty of what upset me, I will leave it at that so I don’t give away the rest of the story. I especially liked it less after I read about what the author has been doing since. For anyone that has read it and knows, you will understand. For all others, sorry for being cryptic.

Leave a Reply

