Posted in Young Adult Lit

Switched, by Amanda Hocking

11457525Switched
Amanda Hocking
2011 Brilliance Audio
ISBN – 9781455857630
Genre – Fantasy
Age – High School
2.5 Stars

Wendy has always felt like she didn’t quite fit in. Her father died when she was young, and her mother who tried to murder her on her 6th birthday has been institutionalized ever since. Recently she has noticed that she has an odd ability to convince people to do the things she wants them to, just by thinking it. Now a new kid, Finn, comes to school and explains to her that she is not human, she is Trylle, a nicer word for a troll. He tells her that she was switched at birth, and the family she has always known is not really hers. She is part of a dying race that all possess various special powers. Even more unbelievable, her real mother is the queen, making her the princess. Now she must return to her home, to learn how to be a princess, and how to rule the kingdom that will become hers.

Not great, but I didn’t hate it either. Wendy is terrible. I understand that she has had a hard life, but jeez she seems a bit spoiled to be so upset with EVERYTHING! When she walks into this new world, no one will explain anything to her. They either expect her to just know, or they tell her she will find out soon enough. How frustrating. That aside, I liked the story. It was interesting, and I wanted to see how it ended. It is hard for me to overcome characters I don’t like, but for some reason I thought this one had promise. In the end, it didn’t really have a ton. I also want to note that this was an audiobook for me, and I didn’t love the narrator. I think I probably would have given this 3 stars if I had read it myself. After finishing, I looked at reviews for the second book in the series, Torn. It seems like readers resoundingly Torn better than Switched. So now I am listening to number two. More to come soon!

2 thoughts on “Switched, by Amanda Hocking

Leave a Reply

