Posted in Young Adult Lit

Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell

16068905Fangirl
Rainbow Rowell
2013 St. Martin’s Press
ISBN – 9781250030955
Genre – Realistic Fiction
Age – High School
2.5 Stars

Cather and Wren are identical twins about to head off to their first year of college. Unexpectedly Wren tells Cath that she does not want to be her roommate, that she would like to branch out in this new stage of their lives. Cath is deeply hurt, but is assigned a new roommate. She take her own classes and soon becomes mostly estranged from Wren, who has chosen the drinking and partying college life. Cath keeps true to herself as she makes friends with her new roommate and her cute boyfriend, not to mention Nick, the boy from her fiction writing class, who she seems to have an extraordinary writing connection with. Throughout the year, she faces her own setbacks as well as those of her family, all while staying true to her fans as the writer of one of the most popular fan fictions on the web.

Ughh, if I was reading this, I would have never finished it. Audiobook was the only way I got through it, and mostly because I have a long commute. I just really don’t think I like Rainbow Rowell, despite my multiple attempts. She writes well, but she doesn’t tell a very good story, not to mention the fact that I dislike 90 percent of her characters. Towards the end of the book, I started getting a little bit more into the plot, but she just kept upping the fan fiction. So on that note…Cath’s Fan Fiction is based on Simon Snow books (pretty much Harry Potter.) So the entire time I just kept thinking that 40 percent of the book is a rip off of a rip off. Now my guess is that she wanted to portray a scenario that a lot of people could relate to, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. I know I am in the minority here, but that’s that.

One thought on “Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

