Posted in Young Adult Lit

Gone, by Michael Grant

2536134Gone
Michael Grant
2008 Harper Teen
ISBN – 9780061448768
Genre – Science Fiction
Age – High School
2.8 Stars

It starts off as a normal day, and then all of a sudden everyone fifteen and older are gone. They disappear in the blink of an eye. There is no television, and no methods of communication, and a giant impenetrable dome blocking the children from the outside world. Chaos ensues as the bullies attempt to rule the new system. Odd creatures are appearing and attacking humans, not to mention that the humans are developing very strange powers. What is causing these strange changes? Can they all be connected?

This book has been on my “To Read” list for way too long, and when I finally get around to it, I am immensely disappointed! The theory is interesting, but in my opinion it just got too weird too fast. While I do appreciate Michael Grant’s writing and detailed world building, I didn’t necessarily like the world that developed. It was very long, and the longer that it went on the weirder and weirder it got. Now I understand the premise behind why it got so strange (which would be a huge spoiler if I said anything,) I just honestly couldn’t get past the oddities. I also hate the idea that so many kids are just inherently not very nice, even if it is true. Lesson learned as to why kids don’t rule the world…

Leave a Reply

