Posted in Young Adult Lit

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

13477676Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock
Matthew Quick
2013 Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN – 9780316221337
Genre – Realistic Fiction
Age – High School
3.2 Stars

To say that Leonard Peacock is down on life right now, would be an understatement. It is his 18th birthday and his plans include giving the 4 people that mean most to him each a parting gift. Then he plans to kill Asher Beal, a former buddy, followed by himself. This book follows Leonard throughout his last day, and explores the reasons he is so unhappy.

I’m going to be honest, I just wasn’t a fan of Leonard. Not just in that way that you aren’t supposed to like the character. He was intelligent, a little bit funny, and actually pretty complex. I felt for his problems and I understood his intense depression. I just didn’t care what his outcome was. I know that sounds terrible, but I just didn’t. I liked the concept of the story, and the story itself. Matthew Quick is a talented writer, I just wish I would have been more compelled by Leo. I enjoyed the supporting cast more, and in turn worried about how Leonard’s actions would affect them more than I worried about him. That is a first for me. I also had a little bit of trouble getting into the book. The chapters were short and choppy and riddled with footnotes. Once the story progressed, it fell into a much better flow. All in all, decent book, good writing.

2 thoughts on “Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

Leave a Reply

