Posted in Young Adult Lit

Noggin, by John Corey Whaley

18049084Noggin
John Corey Whaley
2014 Antheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN – 9781442458741
Genre – Realistic and Futuristic Fiction?
Age – High School
5 Stars

Travis was a 16 year old boy who was dying of cancer. Then an odd seeming man came up with a solution. Before Travis dies, he would like to cut off his head and cryogenically freeze it so that when science advances enough they can attach his head to a new and healthy body. So Travis went to sleep, and then he woke up five years later, except it was only a short dream for him. While he was still 16, everyone he knew had aged and moved on including his girlfriend, his best friend, and his parents. Now he must come to terms with his life when everyone else around him have grown and changed.

This book reminds me a lot of John Green books in that he has found the humor in a realistic and at times heartbreaking story. Parts of this book are laugh out loud funny, while others may bring tears to your eyes. The concept is original in that it is not sci-fi or fantasy in the feeling and the writing, despite the cryogenics. It speaks very honestly about facing change and moving on in life. Although it is kind of goofy in nature, the underlying themes are very real and can be quite hard to deal with. I personally know that it can be hard to face change as I watch it happen, but to oddly just skip five years would be unimaginable to me. What I liked most about this book, is that it made me think. I considered my life, relationships with friends and family, and how the choices I have made affected my present, and how they will continue to affect my future. Another neat thing about the book is that the last words of each chapter become the title of the next chapter. It really pulls everything together. It also made me want to go back and read “Where Things Come Back.” Perhaps my favorite book this year!

Leave a Reply

