Posted in Young Adult Lit

City of Heavenly Fire, by Cassandra Clare

8755785City of Heavenly Fire
Cassandra Clare
2014, Margaret K. McElderry
ISBN – 9781481426305
Genre – Fantasy
Age – High School
3 Stars

Here are my reviews for the first five books in the series. I recommend not reading this review, if you don’t want to spoil the other books in the series.

City of Bones
City of Ashes
City of Glass
City of Fallen Angels
City of Lost Souls

Not everything went back to normal, even after Clary separated Jace and Sebastian from their evil bond. Sebastian is still at large and a danger to the whole world with the infernal cup. Using the cup he is turning Shadowhunters into evil beings. After several institutes are attacked around the world, the remaining shadowhunters retreat to Idris, but it seems they aren’t even safe there. So Clary, Jace, Simon, Izzy, and Alec set out on a mission to find Sebastian and end his reign of terror

This book was too long. Some of the book was really exciting and suspenseful, but a good portion was fifty page diatribes about unimportant fluff. Let me just say that the end was ruined for me before I even started the book. This made it particularly hard to want to read 725 pages. Alas, I had to finish it out! I liked the way the relationships were developed, and tensions seemed to be eased. However, at times I felt like Clare was trying to tie a neat little bow around the series. While the parts that were good were really good. The action was suspenseful, and had unexpected outcomes. I liked the ending but I hated the end, and I refuse to say why and mess up the book for everyone else. I am treading lightly and not saying much because I am too terrified to reveal too much. Looking forward to read The Infernal Devices series, and see how it compares.

One thought on “City of Heavenly Fire, by Cassandra Clare

  1. Yeah, I thought the last three of the Mortal Instruments weren’t as good as the first. I still really liked them though. (I agree with you about the neat little bow.) I think the Infernal Devices is even better than MI! I hope you enjoy them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

