Posted in Young Adult Lit

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, by Jenny Han

15749186To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Jenny Han
2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN – 9781442426702
Genre – Realistic Fiction
Age – High School
2.6 Stars

Instead of telling her crushes how she feels, Lara Jean writes them letters. Instead of sending them she puts them in a hatbox from her mother, and keeps them to herself. Every time she writes these letters (5 in all) her feelings for the boy seem to go away. Then, one of the boys approaches her and tells her that he got the letter. She realizes that all of the letters have been mailed out, including one to her sister’s ex-boyfriend and next door neighbor, who she may still have feelings for. Now she must find a way to push her feelings aside, when another boy receives her letter. Could he be the way to forget her feelings for her neighbor?

Another quintessential realistic fiction book. When I started reading this I really didn’t like Lara Jean, she seemed like an eleven year old instead of sixteen. The more of the book I read, the more I realized that she acted just like a sixteen year old, and many of the other books I have read have overly matured teenage girls. So then, I just started disliking Lara Jean for other reasons. *SPOILER ALERT* This book overall felt like a stretch from reality to me, or maybe it was a happily ever after dream, and in book two she will wake up and have reality hit her in the face. Lara Jean’s whole family was so functional amidst the complete disfunctionality that surrounds them all. There was no big pivotal moment when everyone learned something, there was no character maturation, there just wasn’t much of anything except a sixteen year old whining that too many boys like her, and not being able to decide.

2 thoughts on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, by Jenny Han

  1. I wasn’t too impressed by Jenny Han’s The Summer I turned Pretty series so probably won’t pick this one up. I like that your review was so honest 🙂

Leave a Reply

