Posted in Uncategorized

The Girl of Fire and Thorns, by Rae Carson

10429092The Girl of Fire and Thorns
Rae Carson
2011 by Greenwillow
ISBN – 9780062026484
Genre – Fantasy
Age – High School
4.2 Stars

Elisa has been chosen to bear the Godstone, this is an honor bestowed upon only one person per century, and this honor comes with great responsibility to do something remarkable. She feels as if she hasn’t done anything remarkable yet, when at 16 she becomes the secret wife of a dashing king. It is when she leaves her home, and the shadow of her older sister that she learns more about what her Godstone means. She also learns why it is so important, to her friends as well as her enemies.

I will go ahead and say, a friend has been desperately trying to convince me to read this for over a year. When I realized that I had no books in hand and none on the way, I finally caved and got it read. I have to say, I should have listened to her. I really enjoyed the many layers of this book. Elisa is such a powerful main female character. I like that she is not confident in the beginning, but as she grows, learns, and meets new people she becomes more confident. Her strength improves based on what she is been through. I really love that she portrays someone who is strong, because she has no other choice. It feels truer to me than someone who is strong just because. Based on the description of the book, I didn’t think I was going to like the fantasy setting, but I was wrong. I loved the descriptions of the land, the food, and the culture. I loved that it was a solid believable world. I also really appreciated the fact that not everything was over the top make believe. There is only so much in one book that I can let go. The story was also good, it kept me intrigued, however, I think I would have kept with this one even if the story wasn’t great. I am so glad all three books are already out and I won’t have to wait years!

Leave a Reply

