Posted in Young Adult Lit

I’ll Give You the Sun, by Jandy Nelson

20820994I’ll Give You the Sun
Jandy Nelson
2014 by Dial
ISBN – 9780803734968
Genre – Realistic Fiction
Age – High School
4 Stars

Twins Jude and Noah are inseparable as young children, but as they grow into adolescence they begin to drift apart. Noah becomes friends with the new boy next door, but he quickly realizes that he may be falling in love with him. Jude becomes the wild girl, wearing lipstick, hanging out with older boys, and cliff diving. Three years later the twins can barely speak to each other without fighting. What happened to make their relationship so strained? What needs to happen to heal both of their wounds and reconnect the twins?

This book made me happy and sad, and often times while reading the same sentence. Other times I just wanted to throw it at the wall. Both characters were so wrapped inside themselves that no one else mattered, which is probably why it wasn’t just their relationships with each other that were strained. If I were to meet these two without knowing anything about them, I would probably really dislike them. However, their attitudes and actions seem a bit more explained as the story fleshes out. It is not that I have forgotten how hard it is to be a teen, because I don’t think I ever will, I am just not sure that the hardship can be an excuse to be a jerk most of the time. Another beef I had was the usage of strange an seemly unrelating metaphors throughout. Some of them were well placed, however, some made me roll my eyes, and revert to throwing the book against the wall.  Despite this, I still really enjoyed the book. It did a great job of evoking emotion. I like the juxtaposition of teen sexuality between the two siblings. I also really enjoyed the wacky characters on the sidelines, they really helped to bring humor and light-heartedness to a very heavy book.

Leave a Reply

