Posted in Children's Lit

Wolf Brother, by Michelle Paver

295305Wolf Brother
Michelle Paver
2006 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN – 9780060728274
Genre – Historical Fiction
Age – Middle School
3.7 Stars

Torak and his father roam the earth six thousand years ago. They have been separate from any clans and make their way on their own. Then a very evil spirit visits the two in the body of a bear and kills Torak’s father. In his death journey, Torak’s father makes the young boy swear an oath that he will defeat the evil spirit or die trying. It doesn’t take long for Torak to find the spirit animal that his father spoke of. Together the two must survive on their own and make it to the mountain in order to conquer the evil that is ruling the land.

Generally this is not the kind of book that I would pick up, however, my book club kids voted on it for their next book. Even as I started it, I knew this wouldn’t be for me, but I quickly changed my mind. This book has a lot of action, sadness, fear, and friendship all wrapped into one. Torak’s spirit animal and friend pulled on my heart strings for the entirety of the book. Their friendship grew beautifully. When I didn’t think the book was going to be my style, this is what kept me reading. I thought that I would have a hard time relating to the story, but that wasn’t the case. Although it is about a boy living thousands of years ago, he still faces some of the basic fears and struggles that children and adults face today. For not being too excited about this first book in The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness, I really do want to continue reading the series.

Leave a Reply

