Posted in Children's Lit

The Last Wild, by Piers Torday

18079596The Last Wild
Piers Torday
2014 by Viking Juvenile
ISBN – 9780670015542
Genre – Fantasy, Dystopian
Age – Middle School
3.6 Stars

After Kester’s mom died his dad had him sent away to a school for trouble children without a word of explanation. The world is in shambles after a virus began to spread killing all of the animals, except cockroaches. Six years later, Kester is unable to speak and is still wondering what happened to his wonderful family. Then a cockroach approaches him, and begins speaking to him. Amazingly enough Kester finds that he can communicate with him. He tells him that he must break Kester out to complete an important mission. Kester never imagined that he would be going to see the last surviving pack of animals, led by a majestic stag, and he definitely never imagined that he would be the only one that could save the animals, and help the world return to normalcy.

Let me just start by saying that I wanted this book to be better. I almost gave up because I just couldn’t get into it. However, in reading it for work, I kept on going. I am so glad I did, because the last 25% of the book was amazing. I just wish that the first 75% would have been just as engaging. Kester is a strange character, and I never really got to like him. I felt like he wasn’t very strong in any aspect. I like the animals so much more, and I am not really into talking animals in books. I couldn’t find a single character that I wanted to stand behind, except for one sick cat and a wolf. The story was imaginative, but for most of it I thought the execution could have been better. Really, there isn’t much bad I can say about it, except for the fact that it dragged. I just wanted it to be better, and it wasn’t. However, the end was great, and now I’m actually contemplating reading the second one.

Leave a Reply

