Posted in Young Adult Nonfiction

Call of the Klondike: A True Gold Rush Adventure, by David Meissner

KlondikeCall of the Klondike: A True Gold Rush Adventure
David Meissner
2013 by Calkins Creek
ISBN – 9781590788233
Genre – Nonfiction
Age – High School
3.4 Stars

Stanley Pearce and Marshall Bond were in Seattle when a steamship returned from Canada in 1897. The steamship was carrying miners who had found gold in the Klondike. Very quickly they pooled money and acquired supplies and set off on the next ship out. This is the story of their arduous journey through Canada and Alaska in search of their riches. They tell not only their story, but the story of thousands of others as well. And though the two were not the luckiest of the miners they were not the worst off either.

I like the pacing of this story, it was fast moving and interesting. I also liked the use of letters and diary entries. It helps the reader to feel as if they are inside the minds of the two travelers. I also thought that the pictures added really well to the text in telling the whole story. By no fault of the author, I just didn’t really like Pearce and Bond. I felt like they were very selfish and manipulative. They tended to think of no one but themselves, even as they watched many face greater hardships then themselves. Also, despite the fact that I am not a huge fan of Jack London, I did enjoy his cameo, and learning about his life and the origins of Buck the dog! I found myself disappointed that the end did not have a big climactic (negative or positive) ending. It just ended, and it left me with no real emotion about the pair. However, it made me want to learn about stories of different people who embarked on similar journeys.

Leave a Reply

