Posted in Young Adult Lit

This Shattered World, by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

13138734This Shattered World (Starbound #2)
Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN – 9781423171034
Genre – Science Fiction
Age – High School
4 Stars

Large corporations send colonists to other planets with the hope of a better life. That hope fell through on the planet of Avon. Now rebels are fighting back. Jubilee Chase is captain of the forces that are sent to wipe out the threat of Flynn Cormac and his people. But when Cormac decides to kidnap this military prodigy, things get more confusing then ever. Both have been trained to destroy each others causes, but in all of their fighting they somehow realize that they are not each others’ biggest enemy.

This story is of two different people than those from book one of the Starbound Trilogy, but the stories converge at a point. At first I was really disappointed by the setting, characters, and plot comparatively to These Broken Stars, but as I read more, I learned to appreciate the differences between the books in this series. Although Cormac and Chase are very different from Lilac and Tarver (from book 1) they both have a good background and good character development. I loved the way the two books intertwined and made the mysteries from Broken Stars even bigger. I found a lot of the happenings in the book to be predictable including the relationship between Chase and Cormac, however, the imperfections didn’t seem to bother me too much. I really enjoyed the authors’ abilities to make a sci-fi world be in the realm of belief. Although it took place on another planet, I could totally see the war, destruction, and corruption happening. I am realizing that I am quite the sucker for YA science fiction, and this book was no exception. Although I didn’t like it as much as book one, I enjoyed it thoroughly and am looking forward to book three.

Leave a Reply

