Posted in Young Adult Lit

Grasshopper Jungle, by Andrew Smith

grasshopperGrasshopper Jungle
Andrew Smith
2014 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN – 9780525426035
Genre – Science Fiction, Realistic Fiction
Age – High School
4.2 Stars

Austin and Robby are best friends. Austin and Shann are dating. Austin is confused about his feelings for the two of them. Austin is a historian, he writes the facts of ranging from his Polish heritage to the everyday happenings in his life. Life may have seemed mundane to the group of friends until the day that Austin and Robby got beat up. When they returned to the scene in order to fetch their shoes that were thrown on top of a building, a catastrophic set of events was thrown into motion. Things that occurred next include a glass orb containing some sort of plague being broken, six feet talk praying mantis like creatures coming to life, and the townspeople being killed left and right. The friends hatch a plan to destroy the new and destructive creatures, but will they be able to carry it out?

In a nutshell, strange, but in a good way. I loved the way that the author wrote just like how a teenage boy thinks and talks. I love the way Austin relates to other humans. I love that he is confused about his feelings towards Robby, and that he is trying to come to terms with loving both Shann and Robby in a very similar manner. Before reading this book, I did not read any reviews or synopses so I had no idea what was coming. In the beginning, this felt like a book that was strictly realistic fiction, but as it went on strange things began to happen. Sometimes those strange things didn’t even seem out of place. However, as the book went on, it was very clear that I had reached past the realm of realistic fiction! I really liked this one, I thought that Smith seamlessly weaved two very different stories together, to become one strange and unforgettable tale. I’m not sure that this would have made any sense if it had been attempted any differently. Also the ending blew my mind, in a way that equaled my surprise throughout. This could easily become a series, but I am hoping it doesn’t. I want to continue to use my imagination despite the fact that it probably wouldn’t be as odd as another book.

Leave a Reply

