Posted in Young Adult Lit

The Body Electric, by Beth Revis

body electricThe Body Electric
Beth Revis
2014 by Scripturient Books
ISBN – 9780990662617
Genre – Science Fiction
Age – High School
3 Stars

Ella’s father was killed in a terrorist attack, and her mom is the brilliant scientist who invented the Reverie, a process that allows you to relive your best memory. Ella soon discovers that she can follow people into their memories and manipulate their dreams and fish through their minds. This is very useful information to the leader of the Unified Countries, who wants Ella to insert herself into a government representative’s reverie to find out if he is plotting with terrorists. What Ella finds is that terrorists may not be the biggest threat to her world.

I was sadly disappointed in this book. I love the Across the Universe trilogy by Revis, and was hoping for something just as wonderful. I, however, did not enjoy it nearly as much. I couldn’t read any of the characters well enough to decide if I liked them. I don’t feel as if I really had a chance to get to know any of them. I felt the book was choppy and messy. The overall ending was fairly predictable long before it happened, and by that point, I really just wanted it to be over. I loved the setting, and Revis did a great job of making us see it and feel it. I also really liked the background of how the world became the way it did. It saddens me that the setup for the story was better than the main story itself. I’m not saying this book was bad, it just wasn’t great in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

