Posted in Young Adult Lit

Boy Meets Boy, by David Levithan

boymeetsboyBoy Meets Boy
David Levithan
2005 by Alfred A. Knopf
ISBN – 9780375832994
Genre – Realistic Fiction
Age – High School
2 stars

In a high school in which the star quarterback is also the homecoming queen and stereotypical gender roles are thrown out the window, everyone is accepted for who they are. Paul has always known who he was and he was for the most part comfortable with himself. Then he meets Noah, and his heart is suddenly twitterpated, and before long he messes it up. The odds are against him winning Noah back, literally there is a school wide pool betting on his chances, but Paul won’t give up. Will all end well for Paul in this utopian world?

Okay, this was my cruel introduction to full cast audiobooks, and I can say without a doubt I will never listen to one again. I wanted to like this so much, because I pretty much love everything I have read by Levithan, but I just couldn’t. It was already a pretty dramatically written book, and the audio production just put it over the top. I also really disliked Paul. I didn’t like the fact that everything seemed so easy to him, and that his remorse didn’t feel genuine to me. I felt like he thought he just deserved for everything to go his way, and in the end it always did. The other characters were equally upsetting to me. No one seemed to have any common decency, with the exception of Noah who was wonderful! Nothing worked for me in this book. I think it just wasn’t my style.

Leave a Reply

