Posted in Young Adult Lit

The Adoration of Jenna Fox, by Mary E. Pearson

JennaThe Adoration of Jenna Fox
Mary E. Pearson
2008 by Henry Holt and Co.
ISBN – 9780805076684
Genre – Science Fiction
Age – High School
3.9 Stars

After a horrible car accident Jenna is in critical condition, and on the verge of death. Her two best friends did not survive. As head of the Fox corporation, her father has found away to keep her “brain” alive by uploading its contents into a little black box. Eighteen months later she wakes up from a coma knowing that something is terribly different. Her parents do not want her leaving the house, she can’t eat real food, and she is strangely shorter than she remembers being. By watching videos of her childhood, she slowly pieces together her old life, and what is going on in her new life as well.

The ethical questions behind this book were quite interesting, and they also melded into very personal questions for Jenna. She battled with the question, what makes a person a real person? Or even what makes me, me? Although she may have been a real person, it was less clear if she was the same person she was before the accident. This book was interesting to me, but the entire time, I was waiting for something to happen. Although it wasn’t a very action packed book, it was a book that held my interest despite this lacking. In a future technological world, I believed this scenario; that parents would do ANYTHING they could to preserve whatever they could of their child. I believed that the response would be a combative teenager, who treats any extreme emotion with backlash. The comparison of Dane a natural sociopath and Jenna, artificial yet “real” was obvious, but unnecessary in my opinion. I think he was filler and I would love to have cut him out entirely. However, after continuing the series, I can see why he was there. This book was good, but I think it could have been better easily.

Leave a Reply

