Posted in Young Adult Nonfiction

Hole in My Life, by Jack Gantos

HoleinmyLifeHole in My Life
Jack Gantos
2002 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN – 9780374399887
Genre – Autobiography
Age – High School
4 Stars

Jack Gantos, author of children’s and young adult books, got into a decent bit of trouble when he was a young adult. He made the mistake of getting on board with a drug smuggling mission, and landed himself in prison. In Hole in My Life, he tells us about his childhood, the events that lead up to his bad decision, the mission, and his time in prison. I like Jack Gantos as a writer even if he is a bit cocky. This book is no different. It is written honestly and bluntly. Just a note, he reads his own audiobook. Although, I love when authors narrate their own books, I felt like this one was lacking in emotion. It made me not feel bad for him at all when he was caught and sentenced. I think I really would have preferred to have read this one myself! Overall, it was a great story about someone who had a rocky start to life, but his dedication and drive helped him to become successful and fulfill his lifelong dream of becoming a writer. He proves that you can always turn things around.

Leave a Reply

