Posted in Young Adult Lit

Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story, by David Levithan

9780525428848_HoldMeCloser_BOM_CV.inddHold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story
David Levithan
2015 by Dutton Juvenile
ISBN – 9780525428848
Genre – Musical
Age – High School
3 Stars

Tiny Cooper returns after his appearance in Will Grayson, Will Grayson. This time, he tells the story of his life in musical form. I love the character, I think he is so well rounded and positive. The only thing is, I really REALLY don’t like musicals! There, I said it, don’t judge me. I wanted to love this book, I did, but I just couldn’t. I couldn’t look past the format, and oh gosh, I don’t think I could bear the audio book, especially not if it was full cast. But the positive…Tiny Cooper is a great character, and the lessons he sings are positive. His friends and early experiences really help to define who he has become, and who he was in his other appearances. I like that he never makes excuses for himself, even when he makes mistakes. He know who he is, and even when being himself is not the easiest thing in the world, he still embraces that.

Leave a Reply

