Posted in Uncategorized

Everything, Everthing, by Nicola Yoon

18692431Everything, Eerything
Nicola Yoon
2015 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN – 9780553496642
Genre – Realistic Fiction
Age – High School
2.7 Stars

Madeline has a rare disease, SCID. She is essentially the girl in the bubble, allergic to the world. Her home has a filter that cycles out the air every four hours. Anyone who enters must go through a rigorous decontamination process. She has learned to accept the fate that her life will be severely limited, and that is okay. Enter Olly, the new next door neighbor. When Madeline begins a strange relationship with him, everything changes, she is no longer willing to accept her previous situation.

I wanted to love this book, but unfortunately found it to be just okay. I understand that Madeline did not want to be trapped, that she felt that living her life was not really living at all, but as the book went on, all I could think was how stupid and selfish she was being. Then I got annoyed at how cheesy the writing was at times. Granted, this is definitely a situation that could lead to some genuinely cheesy feelings, it was wrapped up in this fantastical amount of existential prose. It was confusing, while maybe appropriately so to go back and forth between a girl who was wise beyond her years, to a girl who acted like a toddler! I guess I feel like all of this was appropriate, but that it wasn’t seamlessly pulled off by the author. I didn’t believe it, or didn’t feel it. I liked the beginning, and the end was decent, but I just found myself not too happy with most of the middle in terms of storytelling. I did appreciate the drawings, spoilers and other interludes, they upped the fun factor! Also, I love the cover.

Leave a Reply

