Posted in Young Adult Lit

Fig, by Sarah Elizabeth Schantz

22460399Fig
Sarah Elizabeth Schantz
2015 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN – 9781481423588
Genre – Realistic Fiction
Age – Middle School, High School
2.3 Stars

It seems very sudden to Fig that her mother has gotten sick. She then learns that her mother has struggled with schizophrenia before. As fig grows up she must deal with all of the woes of becoming a teenager, and her sick mother. Fig begins to think that if she works hard enough, if she can only sacrifice enough, her mother will get better. Together they both seem to go down an irreversible downward spiral. Will her mom ever get better, and will there ever be a time that Fig does not claim responsibility for that which she has no control over?

I wanted to enjoy this book, a lot. I am working on a book challenge this year, and this filled the category of a book you read purely because of the cover. This one is so visually appealing to me. So, it reinforced the cliche, “Don’t judge a book by its cover.” Once I got into it, I had even more hope, as I am particularly interested by the topic of mental illnesses. However, it just didn’t go anywhere. It seems like one of those books that you would love more for the writing, but it just wasn’t my style. I felt like Fig never grew up at all. It seemed like the I was viewing the entire story through the eyes of a six year old, despite the fact that many years passed in the telling. I wasn’t much of a fan of any of the characters, they just didn’t seem to have much character themselves. They were never explored to their full potential. It was just overall a bit flat in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

