Posted in Children's Lit

Drama by Raina Telgemeier

13436373Drama
Raina Telgemeier
2012 by GRAPHIX
ISBN – 9780545326995
Genre – Graphic Novel
Age – Middle School
3 Stars

Callie loves theater, but she is much more talented when it comes to creating the plays, not actually being in them. She works hard on her school’s production of Moon Over Mississippi, making friends and having tons of fun as she goes. She is seemingly successful at all of her endeavors, except one, BOYS. No one who she likes ever likes her back. As she struggles through school, the play, and her attempts at romantic relationships, her friends always offer their support.

Let me start off by saying, I am not generally a graphic novel kind of girl. I wasn’t a huge fan of these illustrations. They weren’t bad at all, I just didn’t think they stood out. Also, I am not into theater. Why would I read this, you ask. I wanted to see what the hype was about, and why it was getting challenged so often. Honestly, it makes no sense to me. Nothing was explicit in this book, unless you consider two boys kissing explicit. I am glad that we have more LGBTQ characters in children and teen books these days, I just hope that they are portrayed in a non negative manner. At first I thought that Telgemeier was really pushing some stereo types, but I did appreciate that not every character followed the molds that society envision. Although I see the value, it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

