Posted in Young Adult Lit

The Dogs, by Allan Stratton

25496559The Dogs
Allan Stratton
2015 by Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN – 9781492609384
Genre – Mystery, Horror
Age – High School
3.9 Stars

Cameron’s dad is not a nice man. He drinks a lot, and when he drinks he is abusive. Because of this, Cameron and his mom have been running and hiding for years. Every time they find someplace new Cameron starts to make friends and feel comfortable, and then they have to leave. This new place is sort of weird, and really creepy. The house is on a farm that hasn’t been lived in for sometime, and the farm feels like it is in the middle of nowhere. When Cameron starts seeing and talking to the ghost of the little boy who used to live in the house his mom thinks he is reacting to the fear his father has caused them. Cameron gets the feeling that this is more, and maybe he is on his way to solving an old town mystery.

I love the cover of this book. The colors are amazing, and vibrant, and the whole picture really adds to the creepy vibe. I also rally enjoyed the tone of this book. It just gave me an eerie feeling the whole time I was reading it. Some ghost stories just feel so cheesy that the horror feeling is lost, and although I didn’t find this book scary, it was definitely creepy! The whole story read very quickly, it actually seemed way shorter than it was. It went so fast, that I almost wanted more, but then again if it had been another fifty or a hundred pages longer, I probably would be saying the opposite. The writing was clear and concise. It wasn’t overly descriptive or flowery, but at the same time I really felt like I could visualize every scene. I guess my only wish is that there was a bit more depth to the characters. I found myself wanting to know a little bit more about many of them, and was still wanting at the end. Can’t wait to read more creepy books this fall!

Leave a Reply

