Posted in Young Adult Lit

Zane’s Trace, by Allan Wolf

Zane1653113‘s Trace
Allan Wolf
2007 by Candlewick Press
ISBN – 9780763628581
Genre – Novel in Verse
Age – High School
4 Stars

When Zane thinks he killed his grandfather, he takes off in the ’69 Barracuda that his father left behind. He’s on a road trip to the cemetery where his mother is burried, and he plans to kill himself. Along the way he picks up a strange girl who keeps him company through the journey. They each tell their stories in the only way they know how, helping to figure out who they are and who they want to be.

I’m going to be up front about this, poetry is not my thing for the most part, but I have found some I like. One novel in verse I completely fell in love with is “The Watch that Ends the Night” by Allan Wolf (just like the animal.) Anyhow, when I moved to Tennessee this Summer for my new Librarian position, one of our first performers was none other than Allan Wolf (just like the animal) and he gifted me with a personalized signed copy of Zane’s Trace. Honestly, I doubted I would like it (Sorry Allan, the novel in verse thing…) Alas, it was wonderful! Zane is such a cool kid, and often times its the coolest of kids who have the hardest times. I loved that through his adventure which was supposed to be the end of Zane, was really a way for him to get to know himself before the end of Zane. It was obvious that research was done, and the strange bits I know about cars seemed to jive. This story reminded me that journeys are not just about where you physically go, but where and how you emotionally and mentally go as well. Those can often change your destination more than anything else. Thanks Allan for the wonderful book! Maybe I will give up my animosity for novels in verse and try another.

Leave a Reply

