Posted in Young Adult Lit

Shadow and Bone, by Leigh Bardugo

10194157Shadow and Bone
Leigh Bardugo
2012 by Henry Holt and Co.
ISBN – 9780805094596
Genre – Fantasy
Age – High School
4 Stars

Alina is a mediocre map maker. She doesn’t feel like she fits in anywhere, she only has one good friend, Mal. When they must venture out into the folds, the border of a war torn world, Alina discovers she has a special gift. Being a sun summoner has made her valuable not only to her people, but also to her enemies. She must be trained in the court of the Grisha along with the other magical citizens of Ravka. She leaves her life and everything she has ever known to fulfill her duties to her country, and just maybe she will feel like she belongs for the first time in her life!

I loved the scenery in this book, I felt like this dark and magical world was surrounding me as I listened to this audio book. Just a note, I listened to this on a ten hour road trip all the way through. It made the trip fly by, not once did I feel bored or tired! The narrator had a solid and believable voice. It was hard, but not too hard, and not over dramatized. I liked the characters, I fell for each and every one of them. It is always easy for me to relate to someone who feels like she doesn’t belong. I liked that each character had strengths and weaknesses. I have been enjoying the kinds of fantasy, that almost make you feel like this could be the real world. I feel like the characters, outside of their magical powers, could exist in my world. The plot kept my attention, and that is saying a lot based on the circumstances. It was exciting, but not over the top. Will definitely be reading the sequel!

Leave a Reply

