Posted in Young Adult Lit

We’ll Never Be Apart by Emiko Jean

22010129We’ll Never Be Apart
Emiko Jean
2015 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN – 9780544482005
Genre – Suspense
Age – High School
3 Stars

Alice and Cellie are twin sisters that have been living in the foster system since their grandfather died when they were young. After years of dealing with psychological issue, they find themselves at Savage Isle, a mental hospital, for the second time. After they escaped the first time, Cellie set fire to a bar that killed Alice’s boyfriend Jason. Alice has finally had enough of Cellie and her destructive ways, and she vows to get revenge. She wants to kill Cellie and end her reign of terror once and for all.

For some reason, there are all sorts of YA books with twins surfacing. This one seemed the least creepy to me. It was the only one that wasn’t didn’t have to do with one twin dying and the remaining twin pretending to be the dead one. I’m always intrigued by books in mental hospitals, combine that with the awesome, in my opinion, cover, and I was sold. This book had a slight bit of intrigue from the beginning. It felt as if you were really getting only one layer at a time. Using that style definitely held my attention. I am not sure when, but at some point, all of that fell to the wayside. The ending became obvious, and I almost immediately lost interest. I still finished, but the second half wasn’t nearly as enjoyable to read as the first half. Let me just say, I hated Jason, I thought he was the biggest tool. The entire time, I just kept asking myself and the author, WHY? Even Cellie, despite her absolute jerky insanity had some redeeming factors as a character, but Jason, no. I did appreciate the fact that Alice really did have a support system in her life. Despite all of the enemies the threesome made throughout their lives, people genuinely cared and wanted to help. It goes to show that hope is never completely lost.

One thought on “We’ll Never Be Apart by Emiko Jean

Leave a Reply

