Posted in Young Adult Nonfiction

One, by Sarah Crossan

23524610One
Sarah Crossan
2015 by Greenwillow Books
9780062118752
Genre – Novel in Verse
Age – Middle School, High School
4 Stars

Tippi and Grace are conjoined twins, two separate people, always together. Their life has always been complicated and fragile to say the least. And now they have to go to real school after years of homeschooling. We all know that high school is hard enough, when you are “normal” much less when your situation is a bit more unusual. The two begin experiencing a so called normal life. They make friends, have crushes, and get made fun of. Everything seems to be going well until they get sick, and the only way to have a chance to save them is to separate them. Not only is the procedure extremely dangerous, but do they even really want to be apart after all these years?

This book made me think. Things that I would never imagine having to think about are common place for Tippi and Grace. I applaud this book for making me look at life with a new perspective. Everyone has challenges in life, but this book goes to show how vastly different those challenges can be. I thought it was interesting that Crossan chose to make Tippi and Grace so vastly different, almost opposite. I understand the point that just because they are literally connected, does not mean they are the same person. However, I wonder if she overdid their stark personality differences. At times it really made one or the other twin seem very selfish and mean. This book is written in verse, which usually I am not a fan of, to be honest. I just feel like most of them are not super poetic, its just a gimmick to be different. And although I didn’t feel like this book was very poetic, the format didn’t bother me. To be honest, I am not a huge fan of poetry to begin with, so it probably works better for me this way. It does make for a fast read!

Leave a Reply

