Posted in Uncategorized, Young Adult Lit

Out of Darkness, by Ashley Hope Perez

25256386Out of Darkness
Ashley Hope Perez
2015 by Carolrhoda Lab
ISBN – 9781467742023
Genre – Historical Fiction
Age – High School
4 Stars

A new romance is budding in New London, Texas in 1937. The romance may cross the lines of interracial dating, but for Naomi and Wash it brings them happiness, no matter what any one else thinks. Still they must keep it a secret as it could be dangerous for both of them if anyone finds out. In the midst of the two forming plans to escape the harsh life in their current home, a tragedy strikes. The 1937 New London School explosion, a real event, was one of the worst school disasters in history. Will their love be able to survive such an atrocious event?

Oh my Gosh, this book. It was so close to getting that five star review, but then after finishing, I just couldn’t and it broke my heart. The writing was so beautiful, and the emotions were so raw. It was hard to feel like I was there in the same place, because it was so completely different from anything I have ever known. But I felt the joys, and I felt the sorrows like no other. Then I felt the massive punch to my gut. Thinking about it still makes me feel sick to my stomach. I know that a book must be amazing to make me feel so strongly, however, I also feel like it might have gone overboard. Honestly, I am so undecided about the end of this book. I finished it about two months ago, and feel like now I am just barely able to talk about it. In some respects I feel like it was just right, but in others, I kind of hate it and what it did to me. Seriously, whoa. But, on another note, don’t read this book if you are not comfortable with all sorts of racist, violent, and sexually explicit scenes.

Leave a Reply

