Posted in Children's Lit, Uncategorized

Serafina and the Black Cloak, by Robert Beatty

23507745Serafina and the Black Cloak
Robert Beatty
2015 by Disney•Hyperion
ISBN – 9781484709016
Genre – Fantasy
Age – Elementary, Middle School
3.5 Stars
Serafina lives with her Pa on the Biltmore Estate. Her existence is a secret, and none of the residents are allowed to know about her. She has quite a sense of adventure, and explores the estate to her heart’s content. But the rule is that she must never go outside of the grounds. Then children start disappearing from the estate and Serafina thinks she knows who is taking them. There is a man that trolls the corridors in the night, and he wears a black cloak. Serafina must stop him before he steals her or her new friend.

I thought this book was slow. The plot seemed so exciting, but it just wasn’t able to keep my attention the entire time. I liked Serafina, she was quiet, adventurous, brave, and vulnerable. She reminded me a bit of how I might have been had I lived hidden away in a giant estate in my childhood. I liked the concept of defining oneself. Serafina had many questions about her past, and she was very concerned about how the answers may define her future. I think there is a powerful message hidden (not so much) about choosing who we are and who we can become. My biggest complaint is that the book wasn’t more exciting.

Leave a Reply

