Posted in Uncategorized, Young Adult Lit

The Assassin Game by Kirsty McKay

27969100The Assassin Game
Kirsty McKay
3.4 Stars


Cate resides at at boarding school on a very isolated island. Each year, the students of the Guild play a game called Killer. Mush like the game Assassin, one person is picked to be the killer, and the others must try to stay alive, and try to guess who the killer is. Most years the game is lighthearted, and funny, which is why the school administration turns a blind eye. But this year is different, people are getting seriously hurt and even killed. Now the members of the game must try to figure out who the killer is before they get hurt.

I thought this book was pretty good. We have all played this game before, but it was interesting to think of it as such a big production. I recall walking around a room, shaking hands and giving a little tickle to the wrist if I was the murderer. I liked some of the examples of how people could get “murdered” that were light and fun, but it definitely took a dark edge quickly. The end was not exactly what I expected, but not quite surprising either. I wasn’t a huge fan of any of the characters. They were unrelateable, and not really very likable either. I thought there was a lack of world build, but it didn’t seem to big that big of a deal, since this book was mostly plot based. I was guessing until the end, but I didn’t seem to care 100%. Overall, pretty good, I just hoped for more from the cast.

Leave a Reply

