Posted in Young Adult Nonfiction

Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out, by Susan Kuklin

18166920
Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out
By Susan Kuklin
5 Stars

Several teens share their story of their gender identity. I liked this book because it gave different scenarios. There were the more well known male to female transition and the female to male transition, but also more fluid transgender situations. I think this is a great book for those teens feeling like this is or might be what they are going through. It can be a great support for those who are struggling through the process. I found this book incredibly interesting, learning about the thoughts and feelings of teens who are struggling in this. I loved that the book included stories that ranged in situations. You could tell that some still struggled incredibly, and some were much more comfortable in their transitions. I think it successfully demonstrates that this really can be a process mentally, physically, and emotionally. I have handed this book to several teens who may really relate, and they all seem to become instantly engrossed. I am so glad there is a resource like this available.

*As a side note, I recently had a teen ask me for only fiction books about transitioning. My teen stated that every nonfiction book on the topic had “giveaway words” on the cover, and wouldn’t allow her to inconspicuously explore the topic. As I went through the options, I realized that this was the case. And although I love the idea that some teens are out and proud, I recognize that some need a way to be able to explore their feelings in what they feel is safe.

Leave a Reply

